17th November

Concert will begin at 17:00 hours GMT

Wagner's 'Siegfried' with Vinke, Stemme, Siegel and Lundgren from London

Live streamLive stream

Wagner's 'Siegfried' is the third of the four music dramas that constitute Der Ring des Nibelungen. A cave in rocks in the forest. An orchestral introduction includes references to leitmotifs including themes relating to the original hoard plundered by the Nibelung Alberich, and one in B flat minor associated with the Nibelungs themselves. As the curtain rises, Alberich's brother, the dwarf Mime, is forging a sword. Mime is plotting to obtain the powerful ring originally created by his brother Alberich for himself. He has raised the human boy Siegfried as a foster child, to kill Fafner, who obtained the ring and other treasures in the opera Das Rheingold and has since transformed himself from a giant to a dragon. Performers:

Siegfried: Stefan Vinke.
Brünnhilde: Nina Stemme.
Mime: Gerhard Siegel.
Wanderer: John Lundgren.
Alberich: Johannes Martin Kränzle.
Fafner: Brindley Sherratt.
Erda: Wiebke Lehmkuhl. 
Woodbird: Heather Engebretson.

Royal Opera House Orchestra. Conductor: Antonio Pappano.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
BBC Radio 3 BBC Radio 3

Royal Opera House