12th February

Concert will begin at 23:25 hours GMT

Verdi's 'Rigoletto' with Frontali, Grigolo, Sierra and Zaharia from New York

Live streamLive stream

Verdi's 'Rigoletto' is an opera in three acts. The Italian libretto was written by Francesco Maria Piave based on the play Le roi s'amuse by Victor Hugo. At a ball in his palace, the Duke sings of a life of pleasure with as many women as possible. He has seen an unknown beauty in church and desires to possess her, but he also wishes to seduce the Countess of Ceprano. Rigoletto, the Duke's hunchbacked court jester, mocks the husbands of the ladies to whom the Duke is paying attention, including the Count Ceprano, and advises the Duke to get rid of him by prison or death. Performers:

Gilda: Nadine Sierra.
Maddalena: Ramona Zaharia.
Duke of Mantua: Vittorio Grigolo.
Rigoletto: Roberto Frontali.
Sparafucile: Stefan Kocán.

Metropolitan Opera Choir and Orchestra. Conductor: Nicola Luisotti.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Metropolitan Opera House Metropolitan Opera House

Metropolitan Opera House