15th November

Concert will begin at 17:55 hours GMT

Verdi's 'Falstaff' with Álvarez, Hakala, Marsiglia, Grimaldi and Farcas from Turin

Live streamLive stream

Verdi's 'Falstaff' is an opera in three acts. The libretto was adapted by Arrigo Boito from Shakespeare's The Merry Wives of Windsor and scenes from Henry IV, parts 1 and 2. Falstaff and his servants, Bardolfo and Pistola, are drinking at the inn. Dr Caius bursts in and accuses Falstaff of burgling his house and Bardolfo of picking his pocket. He is ejected. Falstaff hands a letter to each of his servants for delivery to Alice Ford and Meg Page, two wealthy married women. In these two identical letters, Falstaff professes his love for each of the women, although it is access to their husbands' money that he chiefly covets. Performers:

Sir John Falstaff: Carlos Álvarez.
Ford: Tommi Hakala.
Fenton: Francesco Marsiglia.
Mrs. Alice Ford: Erika Grimaldi.
Nannetta: Valentina Farcas.
Mrs. Quickly: Sonia Prina.
Mrs. Meg Page: Monica Bacelli.
Dottor Cajus: Andrea Giovannini.
Bardolfo: Patrizio Saudelli.
Pistola: Deyan Vatchkov.
Teatro Regio Choir and Orchestra. Conductor: Donato Renzetti.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Rai Radio 3 Rai Radio 3

Teatro Regio di Torino