15th October

Concert will begin at 18:30 hours GMT

Tchaikovsky's 'Iolanta' with Shcheglova, Shvets, Brjinsky and Morozov from Stockholm

Live streamLive stream

Tchaikovsky's 'Iolanta' is a lyric opera in one act. The libretto was written by the composer's brother Modest Tchaikovsky, and is based on the Danish play Kong Renés Datter (King René's Daughter) by Henrik Hertz, a romanticised account of the life of Yolande de Bar. In the original Danish play. Princess Iolanta has been blind from birth. No one has ever told her (nor does she know) that she is a princess. Performers:

René: Stanislav Shvets.
Iolanta: Olga Shcheglova.
Robert: Konstantin Brjinsky.
Greve Vaudémont: Igor Morozov.
Ibn-Hakia: Dmitry Yankovsky.
Alméric: Jonas Degerfeldt.
Bertrand: Lennart Forsén.
Martha: Klementina Savnik.
Brigitta: Vivianne Holmberg.
Laura: Olga Deputatova.

Royal Swedish Choir. Royal Swedish Orchestra. Conductor: John Fiore.


Get valid XHTML YouTube embed code for your website

Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Operavision Operavision

Kungliga Operan- Royal Swedish Opera