28th May

Concert will begin at 17:55 hours GMT

Korngold's 'Die tote Stadt' with Vogt, Grigorian, Werba and Pessatti from Milan

Live streamLive stream

Korngold's 'Die tote Stadt' is an opera in three acts to a libretto by Paul Schott, a collective pseudonym for the composer and his father, Julius Korngold; it is based on the 1892 novel Bruges-la-Morte by Georges Rodenbach. Paul, a younger middle-class man whose young wife, Marie, has recently died, cannot come to terms with the sad reality of her death. He keeps a 'Temple of Memories' in her honor, including paintings, photographs and a lock of her hair. When his friend Frank pays him a visit at his house and urges him to honor Marie by moving on with his life, Paul flies into a rant, and insists that Marie 'still lives.' Performers:

Paul: Klaus Florian Vogt.
Marietta: Asmik Grigorian.
Frank/Fritz, Markus Werba.
Brigitta: Kismara Pessatti.
Juliette: Marika Spadafino.
Lucienne: Daria Cherniy.
Victorin: Sergei Ababkin.
Graf Albert/Gastone: Sascha Emanuel Kramer.

Teatro alla Scala Choir and Orchestra. Conductor: Alan Gilbert.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Rai Radio 3 Rai Radio 3

Teatro alla Scala