22nd January

Concert will begin at 18:30 hours GMT

Haydn's 'The Seasons' with Szutrly, Berchtold and Kovcs from Budapest

Live streamLive stream

Haydn's 'The Seasons' is an oratorio. The libretto for The Seasons was prepared for Haydn, just as with The Creation, by Baron Gottfried van Swieten. Van Swieten's libretto was based on extracts from the long English poem 'The Seasons' by James Thomson, which had been published in 1730. The work is written for a fairly large late-Classical orchestra, a chorus singing mostly in four parts, and three vocal soloists, representing archetypal country folk: Simon (bass), Lucas (tenor), and Hanne (soprano).

Performers: Katalin Szutrély, soprano, Bernhard Berchtold, István Kovács, bass.

Purcell Choir. Orfeo Orchestra. Conductor: soprano.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mpa Budapest Mpa Budapest

Bla Bartk National Concert Hall