10th October

Concert will begin at 19:30 hours GMT

Händel's 'Brockes Passion' with Piau, Jackson, Krimmel and Arcangelo from London

Live streamLive stream

Händel's 'Brockes Passion' is an oratorio to a libretto by Barthold Heinrich Brockes. It is not known exactly why or when Handel set the text of the Brockes Passion, already used by numerous other composers, to music, but it is known that the work was performed in Hamburg in 1719. It is a lengthy and contemplative work for vocal soloists, choir and instrumental ensemble.

Performers: Sandrine Piau, soprano, Stuart Jackson, tenor, Konstantin Krimmel. baritone.

Arcangelo. Conductor and harpsichord: Jonathan Cohen.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
BBC Radio 3 BBC Radio 3

Wigmore Hall