11th March

Concert will begin at 19:00 hours GMT

Gounod's 'Faust' with Kim, Gay, Vasile, Remigio and Huml from Florence

Live streamLive stream

Gounod's 'Faust' is a grand opera in five acts to a French libretto by Jules Barbier and Michel Carré from Carré's play Faust et Marguerite, in turn loosely based on Johann Wolfgang von Goethe's Faust, Part 1. Faust, an aging scholar, determines that his studies have come to nothing and have only caused him to miss out on life and love. He attempts to kill himself (twice) with poison but stops each time when he hears a choir. He curses science and faith, and asks for infernal guidance. Performers:

Faust: Wookyung Kim.
Méphistophélès: Paul Gay.
Valentin, Serban Vasile.
Wagner: Karl Huml.
Marguerite: Carmela Remigio.
Siebel: Laura Verrecchia.
Marthe: Gabriella Sborgi.

Maggio Musicale Fiorentino Choir and Orchestra. Conductor: Juraj Valcuha.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Rai Radio 3 Rai Radio 3

Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino