25th June

Concert will begin at 15:55 hours GMT

Gounod's 'Faust' with Ayn Rivas, Esposito, Remigio and Noguera from Venice

Live streamLive stream

Gounod's 'Faust' is a grand opera in five acts to a French libretto by Jules Barbier and Michel Carré from Carré's play Faust et Marguerite, in turn loosely based on Johann Wolfgang von Goethe's Faust, Part 1. Faust, an aging scholar, determines that his studies have come to nothing and have only caused him to miss out on life and love. He attempts to kill himself (twice) with poison but stops each time when he hears a choir. He curses science and faith, and asks for infernal guidance. Performers:

Faust: Iván Ayón Rivas.
Méphistophélès: Alex Esposito.
Marguerite: Carmela Remigio.
Valentin: Armando Noguera.
Wagner: William Corrò.
Siebel: Paola Gardina.
Marthe: Julie Mellor.

Teatro La Fenice Choir and Orchestra. Conductor: Frédéric Chaslin.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Rai Radio 3 Rai Radio 3

La Fenice