6th January

Concert will begin at 18:00 hours GMT

Cavalli's 'Il Giasone' with Sabadus, Hammarström, Mkhitaryan, Milev and Gürle from Geneva

Live streamLive stream

Cavalli's 'Il Giasone' is an opera in three acts and a prologue with music by Francesco Cavalli and a libretto by Giacinto Andrea Cicognini. It was premiered at the Teatro San Cassiano, Venice on 5 January 1649, during carnival. The plot is loosely based on the story of Jason and the golden fleece, but the opera contains many comic elements too. Performers:

Giasone: Valer Sabadus.
Medea: Kristina Hammarström.
Isifile/ Sole: Kristina Mkhitaryan.
Ercole: Alexander Milev.
Besso: Günes Gürle.
Egeo: Raúl Giménez.
Oreste/ Giove: Willard White.
Demo/ Volano: Migran Agadzhanyan.
Delfa/ Eolo: Dominique Visse.
Alinda: Mariana Flores.
Amore: Mary Feminear.

Cappella Mediterranea. Conductor: Leonardo García Alarcón.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
RTS Espace 2 RTS Espace 2

Grand Théâtre de Genève