26th November

Concert will begin at 17:00 hours GMT

Bizet's 'Carmen' with Giotas, Bäckström, Hällström and Sporsén from Gothenburg

Live streamLive stream

Bizet's 'Carmen' is an opera in four acts. The libretto was written by Henri Meilhac and Ludovic Halévy, based on a novella of the same title by Prosper Mérimée. It is set in southern Spain and tells the story of the downfall of Don José, a naïve soldier who is seduced by the wiles of the fiery gypsy Carmen. José abandons his childhood sweetheart and deserts from his military duties, yet loses Carmen's love to the glamorous toreador Escamillo, after which José kills her in a jealous rage.

Performers: Carmen: Katarina Giotas. Don José: Joachim Bäckström. Escamillio. Daniel Hällström. Micaëla. Julia Sporsén. Dancaïre: Mattias Ermedahl. Remendado: Markus Pettersson. Zuniga: Anders Lorentzson. Morales: Karl Peter Eriksson.

Gothenburg Opera Choir and Orchestra. Conductor: Karen Kamensek.


Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Sveriges Radio P2 Sveriges Radio P2

Gothenburg Opera