17th September

Concert will begin at 18:00 hours GMT

Berlioz's 'La Damnation de Faust' with Hymel, Finley, Cargill and Bretz from London

Live streamLive stream

Berlioz's 'La Damnation de Faust' is a work for four solo voices, full seven-part chorus, large children's chorus and orchestra. The aging scholar Faust contemplates the renewal of nature. Hearing peasants sing and dance, he realizes that their simple happiness is something he will never experience. An army marches past in the distance (Hungarian March). Faust doesn't understand why the soldiers are so enthusiastic about glory and fame. Performers:

Marguerite: Karen Cargill.
Faust: Bryan Hymel.
Mephistopheles: Gerald Finley.
Brander: Gábor Bretz.

London Symphony Chorus. Tiffin Boys' Choir, Girls' Choir and Children's Chorus. London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle.

Live. Webcast.

Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
BBC Radio 3 BBC Radio 3