23rd May

Concert will begin at 17:00 hours GMT

Archival recording: Strauss' 'Die Frau ohne Schatten' with Fontana, Vogt, Soffel and Eglitis from Amsterdam

Live streamLive stream

Strauss' 'Die Frau ohne Schatten' is an opera in three acts with a libretto by his long-time collaborator, the poet Hugo von Hofmannsthal. The opera's story is set in the mythical empire of the Southeastern Islands and involves five principal characters: the Emperor, the Empress, her Nurse, Barak, a lowly dye, and the Dyer's Wife. A sixth character, Keikobad, King of the Spirit Realm and father to the Empress, sets the plot in motion, but never appears on stage

Performers: Klaus Florian Vogt: Der Kaiser. Gabriele Fontana: Die Kaiserin. Doris Soffel: Die Amme. Peteris Eglitis: Die Geisterbote. Lenneke Ruiten: Der Hüter der Schwelle des Tempels / Die Stimme des Falken. Corinne Romijn: Eine Stimme von oben. Jean-Léon Klostermann: Erscheinung eines Jünglings. Terje Stensvold: Barakder Färber. Evelyn Herlitzius: Sein Weib. Roger Smeets: Der Einäugige. Alexander Vassiliev: Der Einarmige. Torsten Hofmann: Der Bucklige.

Dutch National Opera Choir. Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Marc Albrecht.

Recorded 20 September 2008.

Mandatory field
Mandatory field
Mandatory field
NPO Radio 4 NPO Radio 4

Dutch National Opera & Ballet